Bonanza

Bonanza was one of the longest running and most popular of all television Westerns. For 14 seasons, audiences enthusiastically tuned in to see the High-Sierra adventures of the Cartwright clan. Nestled above the shores of Lake Tahoe is the Ponderosa Ranch, home of Ben Cartwright and his sons Adam, Hoss and Joe (a.k.a. “Little Joe”). Each of the young men was born to a different deceased mother, making poor Ben a three-time widower. Strong characters and intriguing plots helped to set Bonanza apart from the usual gun-slinging formula shows of its heyday.

One reason for Bonanza’s success was the show’s attention to script development. The characters were allowed to grow and evolve; story lines crossed into controversial topics, exploring racial tension, domestic violence and substance abuse. Each of the Cartwright men developed relationships with women on the show; although almost every woman that came into their lives died tragically.

When it premiered on NBC Sept. 12, 1959, Bonanza was not an immediate ratings winner, but the show remained on the air due to the fact that it was one of few shows filmed in color. After barely surviving its first two seasons on Saturday nights, the show moved to Sunday and became a hit: It was the No. 1 show four years in a row from 1964 to 1967. In 10 of its 14 years on the air, Bonanza was in the national Top 10 — quite a comeback for those Cartwrights.

Bonanza, Monday – Friday at 4pm, on Fox Classics

Season 2
Episode
Date & time
 
15: The Blood Line
 
15: The Blood Line
Mon 6 May·4:00pm
14: The Ape
 
14: The Ape
Fri 3 May·3:55pm
13: Silent Thunder
 
13: Silent Thunder
Thu 2 May·4:00pm
Rec
 
 
Fri 3 May·6:00am
12: The Savage
 
12: The Savage
Wed 1 May·4:00pm
Rec
 
 
Thu 2 May·6:00am
11: The Trail Gang
 
11: The Trail Gang
Mon 29 April·4:00pm
Rec
 
 
Wed 1 May·6:00am
10: The Last Viking
 
10: The Last Viking
Fri 26 April·4:10pm
9: Breed Of Violence
 
9: Breed Of Violence
Thu 25 April·4:00pm
8: The Abduction
 
8: The Abduction
Wed 24 April·4:00pm
7: Day Of Reckoning
 
7: Day Of Reckoning
Tue 23 April·4:05pm
32: Death At Dawn
 
32: Death At Dawn
Tue 30 April·6:00am
31: Dark Star
 
31: Dark Star
Mon 29 April·6:00am
30: Feet Of Clay
 
30: Feet Of Clay
Sun 28 April·6:00am
29: Bitter Water
 
29: Bitter Water
Sat 27 April·6:00am
28: San Francisco
 
28: San Francisco
Fri 26 April·6:00am
27: The Last Trophy
 
27: The Last Trophy
Thu 25 April·6:00am
26: The Avenger
 
26: The Avenger
Wed 24 April·6:00am
2: Death On Sun Mountain
 
2: Death On Sun Mountain
Sun 5 May·6:00am
1: A Rose For Lotta
 
1: A Rose For Lotta
Sat 4 May·6:00am