Bonanza

Bonanza was one of the longest running and most popular of all television Westerns. For 14 seasons, audiences enthusiastically tuned in to see the High-Sierra adventures of the Cartwright clan. Nestled above the shores of Lake Tahoe is the Ponderosa Ranch, home of Ben Cartwright and his sons Adam, Hoss and Joe (a.k.a. “Little Joe”). Each of the young men was born to a different deceased mother, making poor Ben a three-time widower. Strong characters and intriguing plots helped to set Bonanza apart from the usual gun-slinging formula shows of its heyday.

One reason for Bonanza’s success was the show’s attention to script development. The characters were allowed to grow and evolve; story lines crossed into controversial topics, exploring racial tension, domestic violence and substance abuse. Each of the Cartwright men developed relationships with women on the show; although almost every woman that came into their lives died tragically.

When it premiered on NBC Sept. 12, 1959, Bonanza was not an immediate ratings winner, but the show remained on the air due to the fact that it was one of few shows filmed in color. After barely surviving its first two seasons on Saturday nights, the show moved to Sunday and became a hit: It was the No. 1 show four years in a row from 1964 to 1967. In 10 of its 14 years on the air, Bonanza was in the national Top 10 — quite a comeback for those Cartwrights.

Bonanza, Monday – Friday at 4pm, on Fox Classics

Season 5
Episode
Date & time
 
9: The Quality Of Mercy
 
9: The Quality Of Mercy
Thu 3 October·3:00pm
Rec
 
 
Fri 4 October·2:00am
8: Journey Remembered
 
8: Journey Remembered
Wed 2 October·2:55pm
Rec
 
 
Thu 3 October·2:10am
7: Calamity Over The Comstock
 
7: Calamity Over The Comstock
Tue 1 October·3:30pm
Rec
 
 
Wed 2 October·2:05am
6: A Question Of Strength
 
6: A Question Of Strength
Mon 30 September·3:35pm
Rec
 
 
Tue 1 October·2:05am
5: The Toy Soldier
 
5: The Toy Soldier
Fri 27 September·2:55pm
Rec
 
 
Sat 28 September·2:05am
4: Twilight Town
 
4: Twilight Town
Thu 26 September·2:55pm
Rec
 
 
Fri 27 September·2:05am
3: Rain From Heaven
 
3: Rain From Heaven
Wed 25 September·3:35pm
Rec
 
 
Thu 26 September·2:10am
2: A Passion For Justice
 
2: A Passion For Justice
Tue 24 September·3:00pm
Rec
 
 
Wed 25 September·2:05am
1: She Walks In Beauty
 
1: She Walks In Beauty
Mon 23 September·2:55pm
Rec
 
 
Tue 24 September·2:05am
34: Little Man...Ten Feet Tall
 
34: Little Man...Ten Feet Tall
Fri 20 September·2:55pm
 
 
Sat 21 September·2:05am
12: The Savage
 
12: The Savage
Sun 29 September·6:00am
Rec
 
 
Mon 30 September·2:20am
11: The Trail Gang
 
11: The Trail Gang
Sat 28 September·6:00am
Rec
 
 
Sun 29 September·3:25am
10: The Last Viking
 
10: The Last Viking
Sun 22 September·6:00am
Rec
 
 
Mon 23 September·2:00am
9: Breed Of Violence
 
9: Breed Of Violence
Sat 21 September·6:00am
Rec
 
 
Sun 22 September·3:10am