Bonanza

Bonanza was one of the longest running and most popular of all television Westerns. For 14 seasons, audiences enthusiastically tuned in to see the High-Sierra adventures of the Cartwright clan. Nestled above the shores of Lake Tahoe is the Ponderosa Ranch, home of Ben Cartwright and his sons Adam, Hoss and Joe (a.k.a. “Little Joe”). Each of the young men was born to a different deceased mother, making poor Ben a three-time widower. Strong characters and intriguing plots helped to set Bonanza apart from the usual gun-slinging formula shows of its heyday.

One reason for Bonanza’s success was the show’s attention to script development. The characters were allowed to grow and evolve; story lines crossed into controversial topics, exploring racial tension, domestic violence and substance abuse. Each of the Cartwright men developed relationships with women on the show; although almost every woman that came into their lives died tragically.

When it premiered on NBC Sept. 12, 1959, Bonanza was not an immediate ratings winner, but the show remained on the air due to the fact that it was one of few shows filmed in color. After barely surviving its first two seasons on Saturday nights, the show moved to Sunday and became a hit: It was the No. 1 show four years in a row from 1964 to 1967. In 10 of its 14 years on the air, Bonanza was in the national Top 10 — quite a comeback for those Cartwrights.

Bonanza, Monday – Friday at 4pm, on Fox Classics

Season 13
Episode
Date & time
 
14: Warbonnet
 
14: Warbonnet
Mon 24 December·4:00pm
Rec
13: A Home For Jamie
 
13: A Home For Jamie
Fri 21 December·4:00pm
Rec
12: Easy Come, Easy Go
 
12: Easy Come, Easy Go
Thu 20 December·3:55pm
Rec
11: The Rattlesnake Brigade
 
11: The Rattlesnake Brigade
Wed 19 December·4:00pm
Rec
10: The Iron Butterfly
 
10: The Iron Butterfly
Tue 18 December·4:00pm
Rec
9: Blind Hunch
 
9: Blind Hunch
Thu 13 December·4:00pm
Rec
8: Face Of Fear
 
8: Face Of Fear
Wed 12 December·4:00pm
Rec
7: Don't Cry, My Son
 
7: Don't Cry, My Son
Tue 11 December·4:00pm
6: To Stop A War
 
6: To Stop A War
Mon 24 December·6:00am
Rec
 
 
Tue 25 December·2:40am
Rec
5: Anatomy Of A Lynching
 
5: Anatomy Of A Lynching
Sun 23 December·6:00am
Rec
4: A Lawman's Lot Is Not A Happy
 
4: A Lawman's Lot Is Not A Happy
Sat 22 December·6:00am
Rec
3: The Silence At Stillwater
 
3: The Silence At Stillwater
Fri 21 December·6:00am
Rec
2: The Witness
 
2: The Witness
Thu 20 December·6:00am
Rec
1: Another Windmill To Go
 
1: Another Windmill To Go
Wed 19 December·6:00am
Rec
30: A Ride In The Sun
 
30: A Ride In The Sun
Tue 18 December·6:00am
Rec
29: The Fence
 
29: The Fence
Mon 17 December·6:00am
Rec
28: Speak No Evil
 
28: Speak No Evil
Sun 16 December·6:00am
Rec
27: The Unwanted
 
27: The Unwanted
Sat 15 December·6:00am
Rec
26: The Running Man
 
26: The Running Man
Fri 14 December·6:00am
Rec
25: Emily
 
25: Emily
Thu 13 December·6:00am
Rec
24: The Deserter
 
24: The Deserter
Wed 12 December·6:00am
Rec